I Already Know How To Do This Stuff

There are rumors floating around that Once Upon A Time, when dinosaurs roamed the earth and your teachers were in school, that summer vacation lasted all the way through August, and school didn’t start until after Labor Day.

Maybe? I don’t know. That was a long time ago. Alls I know for sure is my district switched from trimesters to semesters this year, and we already have 3 1/2 weeks in the books. So Labor Day is actually a well-timed check point for my students and me. We’ve got our first quiz coming up this week in my Algebra 1A repeat class, covering one-step, two-step, and multi-step equations. Way back when, I would have pulled some sample questions out of the back of the book, stood at the board, worked thru the problems, asked the students to copy them down, said “any questions?” then given the quiz the next day and wondered why they *still* didn’t understand.

One year, like a lightning bolt from the sky, the realization: you know, that didn’t work the first time around. How is them watching me do problems going to help them learn? Eventually I came around to the camp that had students working the type of problems we had learned, that they would see on the quiz, and checking each others’ work. Also in that span of time, I fell in with the good people of the #MTBoS, which poured a mountain of brilliant review activities into my Google Reader.

Eventually, fortified by people doing and sharing cool stuff (looking at you Kate Nowak and Matt Vaudrey) I stepped out and tried to create some of my own review activities. Tomorrow’s is driven by a desire for my students to understand why they follow the algorithm for solving equations, and by a desire to have all of them working, engaged with the math, and helping each other out when needed.

So here’s the plan: DIY equations. Documents here:

Algebra 1A DIY Equations Review

Algebra 1A DIY Equations Review Solutions Cards

Got some white index cards and some neon index cards (inspired by Math Equals Love), wrote some types of equations (two-step, multi-step, variables on both sides) and conditions (parentheses, fractions, addition, division) on the white cards, and solutions (x= -1/2) on the neon cards. Students will group in fours, each will draw a condition and a solution, and then write that type of equation with the indicated solution. They will then solve the equation they created to make sure it works. Then they will rotate the papers around the table so they are solving someone else’s equation. Rinse. Repeat, through the group of four.

If all goes well, they should be able to repeat the process (in a 50-minute class, if I can get around the table twice, I’m good). If that works out, each of my students will have written two equations and solved eight, and had a chance to check each one on the spot.

Plan is to check back in and blog the post-mortem. As I tell my students often, “Hey, you know what, I already know how to do this stuff. Went to school, did three, four semesters of rocket-science math. I want to know if *you* can do it.”

2 thoughts on “I Already Know How To Do This Stuff

Leave a Reply

